Georgia for a Time

Well, hello there people that are awesome enough to follow my blog!

It’s been a while!  Like… a really long while!

 

I took a little bit of a break from blogging mostly because I simply didn’t have anything to write about at the time.  Over the winter I didn’t really do much traveling to speak of, and instead of writing fluff posts just to ‘have a post’, I decided to wait for some substantial travel related content.  I also waited… because back in April (I know I can’t believe I’ve waited until now to write this post!!)  I broke my “non-traveling” streak!  (by the way, I don’t recommend ever having any non-traveling streak for any significant period of time..it’s not very fun)  Anyway, in April I took the grand ol’ aeroplanes down to the land of cotton.  And sweet tea.  And peaches… lots and lots of peaches…

GEORGIA!

My aunt has lived in Georgia for about 15 years now and I hadn’t ever been to her southern home, so I decided it was long overdue and booked myself a ticket.  If you follow me on twitter or instagram, you already know a little bit about what I did in my time down there and how the trip went.  But if you don’t follow me on those, (which, you’d better now that I reminded you! ;) ) I’ll give you some of the awesome details and stories right here on the blog.

 

First of all, Georgia is really nice. Like…really nice. Like…if I ever moved permanently out of New York, I’d probably consider there.  At least the areas I was in, which was a town about an hour outside of Atlanta.  Everything seems to be very well kept; I kept noticing how meticulate people’s yards were haha!!  But anyway, my trip down there wasn’t filled with exciting things every day, it was more of a relax and enjoy my aunt’s company type of trip.  However, we did do some fun things.  One thing I noticed about Georgia that I liked was that you can go out in the country in not much time at all, but there’s also a lot to do if you need date ideas or fun activities or whatever.

 

It seems to me that a lot of production and film companies have taken their business to different parts of Georgia, meaning filming locations!!

 

Whistle Stop Cafe

Let me back up though, and tell you exactly how it came to be that I visited one of these famous filming locations (and drove past a few more!).  The day that I flew down, my aunt and Tony (her boyfriend) picked me up from the airport and we drove home.  The next door neighbor that’s friends with my aunt was having a yard sale, and we went over to say hi and so they could introduce me.  We chatted a while and then went back over when the sale was over to help them pick up.  They were really happy I was down there and we saw them several times more during the nine days I was down there.  They were really excited for me to experience some Georgia culture and fun things and claims to fame.  Have you ever seen the movie Fried Green Tomatoes?  I hadn’t, but I did while I was down there!  They had the idea for us all to go to the tiny town where it was filmed, Juliette, Georgia and eat at the Whistle Stop Café which was in the movie.  But I had to see the movie first, so we had a movie night over at their house.  The next morning, we headed for Juliette, ate at the cafe, had fried green tomatoes there (of course!), walked down the main street, and I loved it.  If you haven’t seen the movie, I definitely recommend.  It’s a classic southern movie, and some of the following photos might make more sense when you’ve seen it ;)

ick!! do you know what was cooked here? if you know, say in the comments! ;)

Watch the movie and you’ll know why I’m disgusted by this particular spot!

served hot!

I’m not a tomato fan but these were honestly delicious and I want them again sooo bad!!

 

So aside from Juliette, we also visited a town called Dahlonega.  It’s a pretty small town up even further north than I was.  There were lots of cute little shops and a quaint town square.  It was a really nice drive up there, too.  We ate at a little place called the Picnic Café and Dessertery and I had the best peach chicken salad croissant sandwich!  Seriously it’s been months and I’m still thinking about how much I want it again.  Peaches are so huge down there and I’m in love.

picnic cafe!

 

So I saved the best for last!! Stone Mountain!!  Think: smaller scale Disney World revolving completely around a boulder the size of a small city with a carving in it.  Stone Mountain is a huuuuuge granite rock (it’s 5 miles in circumference!!) with a carving of Stonewall Jackson, Robert E. Lee, and Jefferson Davis on the front.

stone mountain

The state of Georgia has built an entire entertainment park for it and it was a lot of fun.  We took a cable car to the top and the view is unbelievable.  It’s about half an hour away from Atlanta, and we could see the Atlanta skyline!

atlanta skyline from stone mountain

 

My time with my aunt in Georgia was really relaxing and nice.  I can’t wait to go back down and visit her at her Georgia home again someday.  It was filled with lots of tea, cookies, laughs, Atlanta braves games, shopping, and pear salad. ;)

100_3455

 

 

5 thoughts on “Georgia for a Time

  1. Georgia is nice. North Carolina is nicer if you’ve never been. Come see for yourself. I love it here. I’ve lived in South Carolina, Iowa, Texas and North Carolina, and North Carolina by far is the best.

    1. It really is. I was so pleasantly surprised by how nice it is down there in every way and how it looks like it would be a really good area to live in. If you ever get a chance to visit, definitely go for it.

Leave a Reply

